PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding posting pictures and hard drive space?

vpalmer
06-02-2005, 07:42 AM
I am wondering if the sudden rush to post pictures on third party site for the photo challenge is a valid issue raised by Alan and Denise or if this was purely speculation? I know that A&D have recently upgraded servers and I believe there are safeguards built in to the software for users to delete pictures periodically. About a year ago a screen popped up that prompted me to delete some of my attachments as I had exceeded my allotment for space. I have been a member since January 2002 and I received the message after I had been posting for about 2 years. At that time I deleted everything and started fresh. It sounds like this type of system will keep space available on the hard drive and I am wondering if it is really necessary to post to third party providers?

I know it is much more pleasant to scroll down and see all the lovely pictures than it is to have to click 30 times to see 30 different pictures.

I am really not looking to cause trouble. I am just wondering if we may have jumped to conclusions on the space issue. Marci was so sweet to set up the challenges and I know she is just trying to address the concern raised in the previous post about how the challenge should work.

Veronica
Mom to Eva
Born 6-03

papal
06-02-2005, 07:53 AM
Veronica, you pose a very good question.. i don't know the answer. lol.
I just wanted to say that when you get that Screen that prompts you to delete attachments, the attachments are not all only yours. I got that screen once too and deleted all and then I realized that I had deleted a lot of attachments that were other peoples. The second time I got the screen, i just deleted a few select attachments.