PDA

View Full Version : BREAKING NEWS: DBS letter to dealers

alandenisefields
07-11-2005, 08:47 PM
UPDATE FROM DENISE & ALAN FIELDS, authors of BRIDAL BARGAINS

This letter was sent to dealers at 5pm July 11, 2004.

DISCOUNT BRIDAL SERVICE, INC.
1583 Sulphur Spring Road Suite 108
Baltimore, Maryland 21227
Dear Valued Dealers and Friends,

I believe this is one of the most difficult letters I've ever had to write. It is with great sadness I must tell you DBS® will cease all operations as of July, 2005.

We have struggled with the business for the last several years. When our volume was high and our dealer numbers were up we were able to make a profit on the small margins we worked with. However, when business diminished and our dealer numbers fell, this became impossible. Lenny and I have been financing the business personally for the last several years. Each year we hoped the business climate would improve. Each year we thought about the people we work with who are like family and the dealers who have become our friends, not just business acquaintances. Each year we considered how proud we were of the reputation we've held in the marketplace. Unfortunately, we have no way to be able to continue funding the business. Our company has filed a Chapter 7 bankruptcy with us as the largest creditor, by far.