PDA

View Full Version : Online degrees - what do you think of them?

deborah_r
01-28-2011, 05:08 PM
I guess in my mind I have not accepted "online universities" as real education. Am I the minority opinion?

Believe me, I want to hear that I'm wrong, because I would like to further my education and think that would be a great way to do it, so I am so not trying to offend anyone!

I have a Bachelor of Fine Arts from a very good state school. This was in 1994. I have been working in the accounting field for over 10 years, and I am not going to get any further without some formal education in accounting. I'm thinking an Associates Degree is what I should look into? Or since I already have a BFA, can I do like two years of accounting clasees and get another Bachelor's? I have no idea how this works. I would think at least introductory courses would be easily handled online.

I'm just kind of old school on the class discussions being a very valuable part of the process, and not sure how this happens with online school. Also don't want to waste money on a degree that will not be taken seriously. Would love to hear people's thoughts on this.

justlearning
01-28-2011, 05:17 PM
My degrees were from traditional graduate programs, but my brother got his MBA online through a good university (the same university that I got my degrees). That specific MBA program is very competitive so that degree is not looked down upon at all. He did have to attend a few in-person sessions but the rest of discussions took place in virtual groups.

He graduated in 2005 with that MBA so my guess is that online degrees are even more accepted now and that all of the social media would make it very easy to engage in group discussions.