PDA

View Full Version : Big bro/lil sis dynamic: enlighten me!

misshollygolightly
02-01-2011, 02:31 PM
We found out several weeks ago that we're having a little girl. DS will be a couple weeks shy of 3 yrs when she is born. Talk to me about the big brother/little sister dynamic. I'm an only child and have *no* frame of reference for the sibling thing at all. DH has a younger sister but they're not very close and their relationship (while not antagonistic or anything) isn't really a great model for various reasons. What are some things to do or avoid doing to help DS and soon-to-be DD have a healthy relationship? What are some of the annoying things to look out for or really sweet things to look forward to about having an older DS and younger DD?

I guess I'm not feeling very confident about raising my kids to navigate this sibling thing since I have no experience with it myself! All I know about siblings is what I gathered from reading the Boxcar Children series :rotflmao:

maestramommy
02-01-2011, 02:34 PM
Well, my sis has DS who's 3.5 and a DD who'se 10 months. While the DS had trouble adjusting and I think did once ask for her to be taken back to the hospital:hysterical:, he loves his sis. From all accounts he is very much the older brother, taking care of his little sister. I saw videos of them playing together too. Very cute:heartbeat:

lizzywednesday
02-01-2011, 02:41 PM
It'll depend on the kid, really.

But, I can say that as a "big sister" to a little brother at a similar age separation between your DC, if you don't push the issue, they'll be fine.

The only time I really didn't want anything to do with my baby brother was when one of my friends (an only) came with her mom to visit and all she wanted to talk about was "Baby Gerald." I pitched a fit because (a) she was MY friend and (b) his name wasn't "Baby Gerald", it was "Gerald."