PDA

View Full Version : Hypo-thyroid Q- weight gain = need new RX?

SammyeGail
06-08-2011, 04:13 PM
I have been on the same dosage of Synthroid for at least a year. I suddenly gained about 10 lbs in 2+ weeks. 18 since Feb. We did relocate but my eating habits haven't changed.

Went to endo Fri., he speculated I will need higher dosage, finally got in today to get bloodwork done.

It may be Fri., or Mon before endo gets results, I'm really wondering if my thyroid is the reason for this sudden weight gain. Its really depressing, or more like I'm mortified!

Any help from other thyroid med. takers, much appreciated!!

AnnieW625
06-08-2011, 04:15 PM
I have gained weight overnight after eating out more than once a week and then additionally inadvertantly cooking something like store bought pasta sauce which is full of added salt and then it takes a few days to go back down and I severely limit my salt and I feel so much better.

I have no BTDT with thyroid experience though. Good luck!

SnuggleBuggles
06-08-2011, 04:20 PM
That's what happens to me when my meds are off. I finally got on a new dose and it's like "oh, my diet and exercise really does mean I can lose weight!". I was starting to get miffed that months of good habits was not being reflected back to me. In the past 3 weeks since the dose has been right things have been good. The weight gain was the reason I went to have my thyroid tested 2 years ago. Nothing had changed diet or exercise wise, unless for the better counts!!, but I was gaining weight.

Beth

tiapam
06-08-2011, 06:25 PM
I have been on the same dosage of Synthroid for at least a year. I suddenly gained about 10 lbs in 2+ weeks. 18 since Feb. We did relocate but my eating habits haven't changed.

Went to endo Fri., he speculated I will need higher dosage, finally got in today to get bloodwork done.