Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    niccig is offline Clean Sweep forum moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    CA.
    Posts
    18,131

    Default Slow cooker/Crock Pot without lead in glaze

    I read a few posts that said lead can be in the glaze of some crock pots/slow cookers. Even though some say it's at levels less than FDA say are dangerous, I would prefer no lead at all. I've already had one scare with lead test with DS - he was fine, but I prefer to avoid anything with lead.

    Thanks.

    Nicci

  2. #2
    Tondi G is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    So. California, USA.
    Posts
    13,103

    Default

    I think someone mentioned the Cuisinart brand.

    they are a little more expensive than rival (check amazon I think they are on sale there) but for lead free I'd do it. I would call the manufacturer yourself and double check about the lead. Is it lead free or an "acceptable" ammount of lead.

    Good Luck

  3. #3
    Aishe is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,136

    Default

    I have the Cuisinart and confirmed with their customer service that it's lead-free.

  4. #4
    niccig is offline Clean Sweep forum moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    CA.
    Posts
    18,131

    Default

    Thank you. I'll look at the Cuisinart.

  5. #5
    MMMommy is online now Diamond level (5000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5,083

    Default

    For those of you that have the Cuisinart Slow Cooker (6.5 quart programmable), have you had any problems with it or do you like it overall? I don't even know if this is a feature of any programmable slow cooker, but can you set it to start at a specific time (i.e. set it to start 2 hours later) versus having it start right away when you program it?
    Mommy to Two DDs
    Member of the BBB I Love Brussels Sprouts Society

    (Why? Because the banana smilie is just so funny)

  6. #6
    Aishe is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,136

    Default

    Sorry, I don't have the programmable model, but I thought I'd point out that my manual model automatically switches to the warm setting when cooking is complete. That keeps the food at a safe temperature. Because of that feature I decided I didn't really need the programming function. HTH!

  7. #7
    spunkybaby is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,010

    Default

    I bought the Hamilton Beach programmable slow cooker with a meat probe (thanks to a PP in a different thread who recommended it). It's $49.99 online at Target but was $39.99 at my Target store.
    http://tinyurl.com/2rcqnl

    According to the Hamilton Beach's website, there is no lead or cadmium in their crocks:

    "Does the crock contain lead?
    No. There is no lead or cadmium in the crock."

    See http://www.hamiltonbeach.com/faqs/slow-cookers.php

    HTH!
    Mom to a spunky fourth-grader and a spunky first-grader

  8. #8
    KBecks is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    USA.
    Posts
    6,679

    Default

    Thanks for posting this, we need to change out our slow cookers too.
    Karen, mom to three beautiful boys, 10/2004, 7/2006 and 10/2008!
    trying to spend less time online, doh!


    *I regret choosing circumcision for my sons.*
    Our new arrival is NOT circed.

  9. #9
    bubbaray's Avatar
    bubbaray is offline Blue Diamond level (20,000+ posts)
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    BC Canada
    Posts
    20,546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spunkybaby
    I bought the Hamilton Beach programmable slow cooker with a meat probe (thanks to a PP in a different thread who recommended it). It's $49.99 online at Target but was $39.99 at my Target store.
    http://tinyurl.com/2rcqnl

    According to the Hamilton Beach's website, there is no lead or cadmium in their crocks:

    "Does the crock contain lead?
    No. There is no lead or cadmium in the crock."

    See http://www.hamiltonbeach.com/faqs/slow-cookers.php

    HTH!

    Well, I actually called HB a while back and one of their CS reps read me a memo that said that they do not contain NO lead, they just have lead at or below FDA limits.

    See this thread:

    http://www.windsorpeak.com/vbulletin...d.php?t=286245
    Melissa

    DD#1: April 2004
    DD#2: January 2007

    "My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world." Jack Layton 1950 - 2011

  10. #10
    niccig is offline Clean Sweep forum moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    CA.
    Posts
    18,131

    Default

    Thanks for this. I liked the Hamilton Beach esp. for price as I don't know how much I'll use the slow cooker - never used one before. The cusinart is more pricey. I'll have to think about how much I want to use one, see if any deals etc

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •