Thread: School teacher

diamond is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)

Default School teacher

Looking at all threads about working, making me think. I think being a teacher will be nice to give flexibility to stay with kids. How does one become a teacher? I have a masters degree in biology.

SnuggleBuggles is online now Black Diamond level (25,000+ posts)

Fwiw, I was chatting with one of the teachers at the kids' school one day around 5:30-6pm (many of the teachers are there 2-3 hours after the kids leave for the day) and she said she often tells friends jealous of her summers off that she works as much as they do in 12 months but she has to do it over 9-10 months instead. It's a very full time job during a lot of the school year. However, it is conducive to family life with regards to holidays, breaks, snow days (if something you might have)... I'll let someone more versed in requirements chime in. They vary by state and elementary vs secondary.

bisous is online now Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Quote Originally Posted by diamond View Post
    Looking at all threads about working, making me think. I think being a teacher will be nice to give flexibility to stay with kids. How does one become a teacher? I have a masters degree in biology.
    With a degree in science you might be able to teach in High School or Jr. High without a teaching degree. I don't know if that is good idea but not too long ago CA was accepting teachers on an "emergency credential" basis. If you had a bachelors and were working towards a teaching credential, you could work temporarily in the classroom! I think that emergency credentials are no longer accepted in most subjects but the sciences and math are always looking for people. I'd check your state requirements and inquire at your local districts.

llama8 is offline Platinum level (1000+ posts)