Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Globetrotter is offline Red Diamond level (10,000+ posts)

Default cognitive or developmental psychologist

Are there any cognitive or developmental psychologists here? Or does anyone know the career scope?

I'm just trying to help dd narrow down her career interests as we look into colleges (!).
    "Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another, "What? You, too? I thought I was the only one." C.S. Lewis

I'm not a cognitive or developmental psychologist, but since no one has answered, I will! A psychologist (as opposed to a therapist or other mental health professional) has a doctoral degree. You can either have a PhD or a PsyD. Your DD would lean towards a specialty during her doctoral program and shape her dissertation accordingly. Then she'd seek a post doc in her area of specialty. Does that help?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'll chime in.... i'm a failed developmental psychologist going back to school for nursing i have a masters, but was in a PhD program that was supposed to lead into academia (teaching, but primarily RESEARCH RESEARCH RESEARCH). My soon-to-be-ex husband is a cognitive psychologist (we met in grad school). He does have his PhD and though he was also supposed to be led to academia (and actually thought he wanted to be in academia), he ended up working for the federal government. LOTS of research psychology people end up doing that-- either directly or through consulting.