Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Can someone tell me that I didn't flush my career down the toilet to be a mom?

I'm struggling with my morale today....backstory is that I worked very hard to earn my PhD in psychology 10 years ago, but by the time that I finished my degree I had 2 young kids, one with very high needs who was showing signs that there was something in need of real attention/intervention. Rather than go right to a postdoc position and study for my licensing exam at that time, I stayed home to raise my kids. I had a third child (a high risk pregnancy and 6 mos. of complete bed rest) and then I had cancer. By this time it was also evident that my oldest had significant learning needs/disabilities as well that were causing major school problems. In the end, all three of my kids have special education needs, and varying degrees of developmental delays and mental health challenges (mostly LOTS of anxiety). I've been dedicating myself to advocating for them, getting them the therapies that they need, etc. It's been a challenging road, but they all now have their special education services, attend school full time, and my oldest attends a private therapeutic day school for kids with complex learning needs/emotional problems. I'm cancer-free and stable with my health and I want to go back to work.