Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question If you love your job and feel like you're making a positive difference in the world,

please share what you do! Do you get compensated well for it? Are there major sacrifices or drawbacks? (Lots of travel/ had to relocate or re-educate/ can't switch to part-time hours/ etc.)

I'm a teacher, and there are a lot of reasons it's great, but I just started back after a decade away, and I don't know if I can do this the rest of my life! I'm thinking of changing fields, but I don't know what I would do.

Is it possible to love your job? If you do, have you always loved it, or have you trained yourself to love it? Is it a second career, and you feel like you've finally found the right fit? If you stayed in the same career, but switched locations or something else, could you please explain? How did you decide if the job is something that you could like more/ that would get better over time? How did you know that it was 'not right' enough to change?

Thanks so much for weighing in!

niccig is offline Clean Sweep forum moderator

I’m a SLP that works in schools and I work 1-2 Saturday’s per month in a hospital setting. It’s a 2nd career for me. I really disliked my first job, so even though there are difficult things with my job, overall I’m very happy with it. I’ve been in worse situations, so I can deal with the things I don’t like.

There’s too much paperwork, too many students, too much work to do at Home, but when a student can say their name or communicate when they haven’t been able to before, it makes it worth it. I’m trying to get more efficient with the non-student contact work, so I have more time with students. I’m also trying to stress less, everything will get done. I’m not trying to be superwoman. I do what I can as much as I can.

Sent from my iPhone using Baby Bargains

dogmom is offline Diamond level (5000+ posts)