PDA

View Full Version : WWYD no presents request--Long and maybe disjointed

vludmilla
12-17-2007, 05:13 PM
My no gift request dilemma is that my aunt sent me a letter several years ago requesting no gifts for her family. It was not a personal letter, it had the feel of something she sent to many people. It was kind of a cutesy poem about how they (her, her husband and her son) had all they could ever need so please, no more presents. This letter arrived sometime in January and at the time I couldn't shake the feeling that she wasn't too pleased with my gifts. At that time I was a full-time college student, living on my own, and working at a pretty low wage job so I guess my presents weren't too spectacular because of my budget. So, the complication is that no one else in my family received the letter. When the next Christmas came around, I didn't feel comfortable not giving any gifts so I brought a nice bottle of alcohol for my aunt and uncle and a giftcard for their son (he was under 10 years old at the time). I felt very uncomfortable because my aunt seemed to studiously ignore and not acknowledge my gift of the alcohol and then when we were opening presents (we are very small group and each person usually gets one present from each person) it was pretty obvious that I was the only one not giving my aunt and uncle a gift. Oh, and to add to my discomfort, she gave me and my husband a $50 gift certificate! My sister hadn't received the no gift memo so she gave a gift---apparently I was the only one in the family who had received the note.
Anyway, it has now been several years and every Christmas stinks in this way. I feel all weird not giving her a gift and she gives me one and there is no discussion of the note.