PDA

View Full Version : Chiropractor vs. physical therapy?

sidmand
12-22-2007, 09:46 AM
I seem to have the beginnings of pregnancy-induced sciatica. The nurse suggested (since I have quite a few weeks to go), that I should probably look into either a chiropractor or PT asap.

DH thinks a chiropractor is a quack. I've only been to one and I didn't really like him, but I think it was more finding the right one for a rapport and for what I needed.

Anyone have any experience with either during pregnancy? Would you suggest one over the other?

A friend had suggested a chiropractor she really liked. He's about 20 minutes away, which isn't bad. I also used a PT I liked and could see if I could get an appointment there too. I'm just not sure which way to go.

TIA!

tylersmama
12-22-2007, 11:56 AM
Ok, here's my $.02 as someone who has worked in the rehab field (but I'm not a PT, I'm a certified athletic trainer). Chiropractors can be ok *for some things* if you find a good one. The problem is that there are a lot of not so good ones out there. A good chiropractor will thoroughly evaluate you and then implement a treatment program that includes physical therapy (or at least a strengthening/exercise program of some type) as well as manipulations and electrical stimulation/ultrasound/etc. The not so good chiropractor will just do the manipulations and treatments without doing any kind of strengthening. The problem with this is that it treats your pain and makes you feel better without doing anything about fixing the underlying cause, so you end up back there for the same thing 2-3 times a week, indefinitely.