PDA

View Full Version : Bumper Pads: I don't get it

dogmom
10-17-2002, 11:00 AM
I need some help here. Everyone keeps telling me I need bumper pads because the baby might hit his head on the rails or stick his arm through. I look at bumper pads and just think "smother, smother, smother." Now, I'm a nurse and I always look at the worst case scenario, but I just don't feel comfortable with bumper pads. I know they don't use them for those large metal scary cribs in the pediatric ward. Here's my questions.
1) How do they actually keep a baby from sticking his arm/leg through? They are not firmly attached at every rail, so a limb can easily still get under. And if an arm gets caught, so? I assume if it's a problem there will be some screaming and some parental intervention.
2) How much momentum can a baby build up with his head? I mean, I understand they creep around the crib and can bump against the side. To really slam his head against the rails and cause any damage he would have to be bigger, have more coordination, stand-up, etc. At that point, you are supposed to take the bumper out, aren't you?

Sorry about my confusion, it just seems like my friends/relatives are horrified that I don't want a bumper. Somehow they think that my baby will break his arm if he sticks it through the slats then moves.

m2tandk
10-17-2002, 11:25 AM
Its really up to you. I always used them, and will again mostly because I like the look it creates in the crib with the coordinated bedding. My two kids never really rolled enough to get anywhere near putting their limbs through the slats or bump their heads. I think its totally an individual decision.

Kelly

alandenisefields
10-17-2002, 11:47 AM
Hi!

Thanks for using our message boards!

Great question. In fact, this is one of the obstacles to getting manufacturers to agree on bedding standards.