PDA

View Full Version : Decorating paneled walls

heatherly2475
03-25-2003, 05:44 PM
I would appreciate some suggestions on decorating a nursery with wood paneled walls. It is a light natural paneling like that typically found in home improvement stores. Must I forget about a border? What can I do to liven up a "woodsy" room? Would it be "woodsy" overkill to go with a natural color crib and dresser? Please advise; I'm new to all this decorating stuff.

Momof3Labs
03-25-2003, 05:47 PM
Can you paint the paneling - is that an option, or something that you might want to do?

heatherly2475
03-25-2003, 05:52 PM
I would prefer not to paint the paneling. My husband and I own the house but are planning on renting it out later. There is currently white (and unpainted) trimwork that could be painted another color. I never thought about it before, but perhaps just painting the trim a lively color would help.

elizab27
03-25-2003, 11:57 PM
You could do a "white wash" technique on the paneling so that you can more easily decorate around it without making it look painted. Then it would look more like wainscotting. Shouldn't hurt resale/rental either. People are always afraid to "paint" natural wood, but you'd be surprised what a clean, finished look it might give it. I'd definitely forget about a border, it will conflict with the vertical lines of the paneling. Maybe try a few well placed stencils or wallsies in whatever theme you choose instead? (Try poshtots.com for ideas, they're expensive, but have some great food for thought)