PDA

View Full Version : Summer wardrobe for crawler

s_gosney
02-23-2004, 11:03 PM
so jumping off of the walking baby thread...I assume DD will start crawling sometime over the summer, and I guess maybe walking too since summer here lasts till October sometimes. So, what kind of clothes are recommended for this age? It gets pretty hot here with high humidity, so I was thinking shorts or those long shirt/dress with diaper cover combo thingies (lol...can you tell I'm new at this?:)) But, I'm sure her poor little knees will be rubbed raw. What to do? TIA!

kaitlinsmommy
02-24-2004, 12:12 AM
I would definitely not have too many dresses, especially long ones. I went nuts buying dd adorable Gymboree dresses in 6-12 months and she could hardly wear them because they are not good for crawling. They just get in the way & frustrated my baby. It is the one thing I WISH someone would have told me. During the crawling months, she wore shorts with t-shirts, one-piece shortalls (like Carter's) or cute onesies. Bloomers would be good too.

And you're right - her knees will be all red in the beginning. But it seems knee skin toughens up and gets used to it. I've seen knee pads for crawlers in the OSA catalog - not very attractive though.

khakismom
02-24-2004, 12:43 AM
ITA with Kim. Avoid dresses. I did the same thing with my first, buying tons of 6-12 size dresses, she hardly wore them. It is REALLY hard to crawl in a dress. I think as long as you avoid dresses you'll be fine. Capris would be great because they're summery, but protect the knees. :)

amp
02-24-2004, 09:07 AM