PDA

View Full Version : Ebay Help Needed

ast96
06-18-2004, 01:59 PM
I have resorted to buying DS clothes on Ebay, since Gymboree's stuff is atrocious, Baby Gap's has gone downhill (IMHO), and Hanna, J&J, and boutique jon-jons (see thread below) are so expensive. I am just learning how to use Ebay, and I keep getting outbid at the last second by a more savvy Ebayer! Can anyone give me tips on how to avoid being outbid at the last second, or how to smartly bid on toddler clothes items?

Thanks,
Allison
DS 06/02
DS 03/04

jk3
06-18-2004, 02:11 PM
I usually place an item I like on my watch list + bid in the last 2 minutes or so. I've been moderately successful. If you really want an item, I find it's important to watch the auction in the last few minutes. Putting in a high bid at another point in the auction doesn't really help because if someone else wants it they will wait and bid high at the auction's close. Some of the Buy Now auctions are also priced pretty well. I've only bought a few items that way but you definitely win that way. Hope that helps!
Jenn
DS 6/3/03

steph2003
06-18-2004, 03:03 PM
Allison -

I'll be bidding right along with you :) You could have taken the words right out of my mouth about boy's Gymboree & Baby Gap being going down hill + other stuff being pricey. I have gotten hooked on Ebay the last few days. I agree with the other poster if it is an item you really want I find I have to watch it very close the last couple of minutes. Other than that I don't have any other suggestions for you.
Good luck!

sweetbasil
06-18-2004, 04:16 PM
I always wait to bid until the end, too. That way, you're flying a little lower under the radar, YKWIM? I use www.esnipe.com to bid when I'm not around, it's something I really want, etc. It seems, as I've been doing more selling than buying lately, that many bids are coming in the last few minutes- an item may look untouched and then get bid up incredibly in the final auction minutes.

Have fun!

parkersmama