PDA

View Full Version : Clueless about clothing sizes...

Judegirl
06-21-2004, 02:48 AM
My dd is almost 7 weeks old, and weighs about 12.5 pounds, at about 24-25 inches. She's outgrowing some of her newborn stuff already, and today I dressed her in a Gymboree 3-6 month outfit and it was snug.

I'm not experienced enough to eyeball all of her clothes and ascertain whether they'll fit...and I really don't want to try everything on her every few weeks! Are there any rules-of-thumb, so I can make educated guesses at what might fit? Any brands that run large or small? Or are there weight ranges that generally correspond with sizes? How does everyone else decide what to start trying on when? (Am I the only one who has NO idea when I hold something up whether it's for a newborn or a toddler?)

I'm afraid she'll outgrow things I never even take out of the drawers if I don't figure this out soon - her clothes are organized by the sizes on the labels.

One more question...if the label says "3 months" does that mean it should fit up until 3 months, or it should fit AT 3 months?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can offer me a clue!

ETA: Most of her stuff is Oshkosh, Babystyle, Gymboree and Little Me.

Jude

Buffys Mommy
06-21-2004, 03:19 AM
Jude,

I've found that some manufacturers run very big and some run small. And some (like Gymbo) have some big and some small items.

As for the labels - If it says 3 months it means it should fit up to 3 months. I've found that my dd runs fairly true to size (i.e. she's in 6 - 12 month clothes right now - but can fit some 12 - 18 months gymbo although they are big on her). I also know lots of kids who were at least one size "ahead".