PDA

View Full Version : Swimsuit for 6 mo? Swim class starting soon - PLEASE help

MarisaSF
01-05-2005, 07:12 PM
What would you do? Do I need/want a swimsuit for DD for our "Mommy & Me" intro to water fun class?

I've never done this before and could use the advice.
I suppose I should put DD in a swim diaper. I planned to just take her in the water in the diaper. Today, though I saw some cute swimsuits at Old Navy. That got me thinking:

1 - Should I just take her in the swim diaper with no suit?
2 - How do baby swimsuits work? Are they engineered big enough to cover a diaper?
3 - If I get a suit, does anyone rec the Old Navy suits? Best suits? Our class is only once/week for 10 weeks. The ON suits are $12-14.

I know this sort of an out-of-season question so TIA!

lctippins
01-05-2005, 07:20 PM
We did this last year when DD was ~8 months. I did buy her a swimsuit. I got it on sale from Gymbo (it had been marked down twice, so it was a good deal). We used the Huggies swim diapers and the swimsuit fit just fine over top. Personally, I just felt funny taking her in the pool with other people in just a swim diaper. Plus, I thought that the swimsuit added an extra layer of "protection."

Hope you enjoy the class!

Lisa - Mom to Kendall 6/6/03

AbbieF
01-05-2005, 08:39 PM
I married into a family of swimming fanatics. DD was in the water at 7 weeks- although we didn't put her face in. I always had a swimsuit on over the swim diaper, especially when we were outside for extra protection. But I found the swimsuit helped me feel like I had a better grasp on her. As a friend of mine says, "bathing a baby is like trying to wash a hard boiled egg" so the suit made her less slippery (does that make sense?). Although I don't know that its absolutely necessary. I haven't checked lately, but a few weeks ago there were lots on sale at www.kidsurplus.com

Abbie
Mom to Maddie 4/17/04

heidi_timms
01-05-2005, 08:40 PM