PDA

View Full Version : nursing twins

spu
07-16-2002, 10:05 AM
Hi there,

Our twin girls are due any day now (first babies - so I'm new at all of this). I've been reading about nursing, and have a few questions for moms out there with twins.

Were you able to feed both babies at the same time? I've read about feeding on-demand at first, and then feeding on a schedule. What's the best position for feeding both at the same time?

Did you find the need to pump at all? If so, did you rent a hospital pump?

I'm hoping to be able to offer a bottle eventually with expressed milk so DH or grandparents can help with some of the feedings. Did you try this? If so, how old should the babies be to introduce a bottle and how often should a bottle be used to avoid nipple confusion?

How about nursing in public? Did you bother to buy nursing tops or just use layers and a shawl? I was looking at Motherwear's shirts and they seem pretty nice, but the shipping costs are atrocious.

For nursing pads, did you prefer the disposables or the washable kind?

Any other advice would be great! Thanks for all your help!

susan

Rachels
07-16-2002, 11:54 AM
Congratulations! I admire you for choosing to breastfeed your babies. I only have one baby, so can't comment on that aspect, but wanted to encourage you to talk to a lactation consultant as soon as possible. You won't believe how helpful it can be.