PDA

View Full Version : crib placement advice needed -- small apt, BFing, HELP!

zen_bliss
02-27-2003, 07:37 AM
i'll be using a co-sleeper, but i thought having the crib set up from the get-go for naps would be good to get her used to it for when she outgrows the co-sleeper.

we have a small city apt and the choices are:
our bedroom -- very dark, quiet, faces in over residential courtyard, air-conditioned.
2nd room/office -- very bright, sunny, overlooks BUSY loud street (many sirens at all times). downside is grit that floats in, even with air filters and aggressive vacuuming. no A/C, room gets kind of hot during the day. the changing table & glider is in here for middle of night trips.

i am a total novice. i've thought that the downside of the crib in our bedroom is would it be a difficult transition when we move it to another room eventually... but the downside of having the crib in the office room is the street pollution and lack of a/c makes me nervous, but the upside is that she'd get accustomed to sleeping through anything : )

any thoughts from experienced city dwellers? many TIA!!

bnme
02-27-2003, 08:26 AM
I don't currently live in the city but I used to so I am familiar with the "black dust" as I used to call it.

My question would be is where do you plan to have the baby sleep after the co-sleeper? That is where I would put the crib for nap (and I guess I would avoid the 2nd room, unless that is what you plan to make baby's room). Could you even fit both the co-sleeper and the crib in your room?

It definetly would help to get the baby used to the noise, etc if that will be their room.

MichelleL
02-27-2003, 01:57 PM
Hi!