PDA

View Full Version : Nothing fits!!

MeMaw
06-04-2003, 11:18 AM
Hi all,

My baby is 14 months and we're still nursing. OK, I know this sounds shallow, but I'm so sick of none of my good (pre-pregnancy) clothes fitting anymore--it's one of the big reasons I want to wean. I'm still hanging onto extra weight (20 pounds) and just the size of my boobs alone makes it impossible to wear any of my old tops. I do not want to buy a whole new wardrobe in a bigger size--I feel like that would be caving in and resigning myself to being this weight. Also, I'm just beginning to think about when we want to try for Baby #2, and I do not want to go into it already 20 pounds overweight.

So, I've got two questions--first, is it true that you hang onto some baby fat while nursing, and when you wean, it's easier to lose it? (I know, probably not 20 pounds worth, but any would be helpful!) Does your appetite get smaller too?

Second, do your boobs shrink back to their normal size after weaning (albeit a bit saggier), and if so, how long does it take for this to occur?

Also, can somebody help me with the acronyms--dd, dh, LOL, etc. I love this message board, but feel out of the loop--thanks!!

chrissyhowie
06-04-2003, 11:39 AM
I can't help you much with your weaning questions (DD (dear daughter!)is my first and only 4 months) but here's a link to see a thread about the abbreviations:
http://www.windsorpeak.com/dcforum/DCForumID30/1696.html

Once you get used to the acronyms, they are very helpful! Some of them I haven't figured out yet either!

HTH (hope that helps:)),

Rachels
06-04-2003, 11:50 AM
Which ones? We can translate for you.

I do know that breasts return to a smaller size once you wean. I have heard that some women also do lose the weight at that point, although I don't think it's a given. There are also hormonal shifts with pregnancy that can affect the thyroid, which can affect weight gain, so it might be worth asking your doctor about thyroid stuff.