PDA

View Full Version : Nursing and Vitamins

agomalley
07-18-2003, 05:22 AM
I've been nursing now for 3 months. I've been taking the prenatal vitamins (when I remember...) but was wondering how long I need to take them. Are you still taking the prenatals and if not, which vitamins are OK to take?
Thanks,
Anabelle

Momof3Labs
07-18-2003, 07:04 AM
My OB wants me to continue taking prenatals as long as I am nursing.

nat12
07-20-2003, 03:13 PM
The ped told me I could take either my prenatal vitamins or regular ones, so as soon as I finish off my bottle of prenatals (in a few days) I'm going to go back to taking Centrum. I'm going to check with my OB at my 6 week appt just to see what she says, though.

Natalie
Ethan 6/14/03

pritchettzoo
07-20-2003, 04:19 PM
After not being able to keep down the generic hot-pink prescription prenatals, I started doing research. I loved the StuartNatal Duet vitamins that were freebies from my doctor's office, but they were more than $25/mo with our insurance (sucky, but that's another topic!). StuartNatal makes an over-the-counter brand called Stuart Prenatal (how original!) that I found at Kroger. Then we went to Sam's and the Sam's brand said "compare to Stuart Prenatal" so I did and it is the same! They're like $10 for a million vitamins. It's just as cheap as taking regular OTC vitamins, in case cost is a factor in your decision...

Anna
#1(DD) EDD 9/10/03

toniteach
07-20-2003, 06:08 PM
I still take prenatals and I've been nursing for nearly 8 mos. I think they're good for you, and your baby. Moms need extra iron! I also supplement with some calcium pills...but that's all. I got OTC prenatals at Costco for a song.

Good luck with your nursing,
Toni
dd Kelly

kapow
07-21-2003, 08:13 AM
I'm still taking my prenatals, plus a calcium supplement. I'll continue it for as long as the prescription lasts (through January, or six months BFing.) Otherwise I'd go back to my One-A-Day.

Tondi G
07-21-2003, 05:04 PM