PDA

View Full Version : Gassy baby

khakismom
07-28-2003, 05:40 PM
Help please! DD gets very gassy--so much so that she wakes up from sleep screaming in pain. We are using Avent bottles. Should I switch to Dr. Brown's? Do they work better with eliminating gas? Or is there another kind of bottles to try? Anything else I should do or try? (I didn't have this with first DD, so I have no experience with this.)

I welcome any and all suggestions! Thanks!

...Maureen

Mom to
Kathleen 3/22/01
Ellen 6/4/03

kels228
07-28-2003, 06:24 PM
Have you tried the Infants' Mylicon drops? It's supposed to help a lot with gassy babies. I would ask the pediatrician first before using them though, since it is kind of a medicine. Good luck!

Kathleen
Due 11/9/03

peanut4us
07-28-2003, 06:34 PM
are you bfing or formula feeding? if bfing, then you might want to look at what you're eating that can cause gas, like dairy, and eliminate it.

i would try the mylicon drops, and if that still doesn't work, you might want to talk to your ped. Sara ended up on a prescription gas drop called levsin, which was a nightmare, but it did help. It would make her puke her guts up if we gave it to her within 2 hours of eating! Not fun. But it really did help, and now she's off it.

Marisa6826
07-28-2003, 07:13 PM
I highly recommend Gripe Water. It worked SO much better than Mylicon for us. You can get it at Whole Foods. If you can't find it, PM me and I will pick some up for you!

We use Avents and haven't had any major issues with them. Make sure you have the nipple full of milk. If you haven't tilted the bottle enough to fill the nipple, Ellen will swallow air. Also try burping after every couple of ounces.

Good luck

-m

Rachels
07-29-2003, 07:05 AM