PDA

View Full Version : What should a breastfeeding brand new mom register for?

aliceinwonderland
10-28-2003, 10:13 PM
I'm pretty sure I'll get the Avent "Back to work" set, which in my case should be called back to school, as I'll be starting law school when my little one is approx.4 months old. That includes the pump, and I think a couple of bottles. What other bottles (if any) should I get? Should I vary sizes? Also, what bottle warmer (if any) do you find works best? Not too worried about the price on this particular sector. What else in terms of my own and baby use should I register for or plan to buy? Thanks so much in advance!

kaitlinsmommy
10-29-2003, 12:43 AM
I'm not an expert on the bottle front but will offer MHO. First, if you are going to school and plan to exclusively bf, I highly recommend an electric pump. They work a lot better & you can get a lot of milk quickly.

Maybe you can just get a starter set and make sure your baby is fine with the Avent nipple before getting a bunch. You will probably want to introduce a bottle in the first month or two and you can buy more once you're sure Avent works. You will only need the 4 oz. size in the beginning so have a couple of those. If you want to register for more, go ahead, but I'd keep the receipts.

We never had a bottle warmer, but dd never had that many bottles. As a lot of moms do, we just ran them under hot tap water to warm them up.

You should also register for breast milk storage containers. I used Avent & Evenflo storage bottles but if you will be pumping a lot and need more room in your freezer, you will probably want to use bags. I think Gerber bags are fine.

You will definitely want breast pads too. I liked Lansinoh disposable ones. I tried the washable ones and hated them. Maybe I leaked more than average but the Lansinoh ones never soaked through.