PDA

View Full Version : Isis gurus...reusable or disposable?

geochick
11-06-2003, 03:21 PM
I am expecting my first baby in early January. I am interested in the Avent Isis pump. I will be a SAHM and will only pump occasionally. My question is, which system should I use - the Isis disposable bottles or the reusable bottles (and why?)? I realize that baby may not like the Avent bottles, so is it better to go with the disposable system and pour into the "preferred" bottle? Do babies get fewer gas bubbles with one of the systems? When is the best time to first introduce the bottle if I only plan to use them occasionally? I am pretty new to all of this so any information you can give me will be appreciated. Thanks.

KathyO
11-06-2003, 03:31 PM
I got the reusable, and am glad that I did, but for kind of a weird reason... my daughter, who refused the bottle like it contained arsenic or something for the first half year or so, ultimately accepted it, and now, at 2 and a half, her favourite "comfort object" when she sleeps is an empty bottle to suck on. (Funny, because she never did take to pacifiers). Don't know how common this is, but there you are...

Best,

KathyO

C99
11-06-2003, 03:35 PM
I can't answer any of the when questions, but I'd get the reusable bottle system over disposables. The Avent storage bags were the worst of the ones I've tried and, like all bags, don't give a very accurate measurement. I have both a Medela PIS and an Avent Isis and I've stored all the milk in Gerber zip-top bags until I needed to use it. Then I just defrosted it and poured it into my bottle of choice (Avent).

Momof3Labs
11-06-2003, 03:57 PM
I agree - go with the reusable. But keep in mind that you CAN use the pump with the Avent disposable bottles! But the reusable bottles will give better measurements, and it is easier to pour out of those than out of bags.

jennifer13
11-07-2003, 10:39 AM