PDA

View Full Version : Help with weaning

mattysmom
11-13-2003, 12:03 PM
My ds is now almost 9 months, eating solids well and being bf (or having a mixed bottle when I'm working (3 days/week). Ideally I'd like to get down to 2 bfeedings (7 am and 7 pm) and then give him bottles for the other 2 (10:30 and 3:30) with 3 meals or so. How do I convert a bfeeding to a bottle w/o getting totally engorged? Should I nurse at 7, 10:30, give a bottle at 3:30 and then nurse at 7? I'm not sure if I'm explaining myself well, but if anyone has any advice on dropping feedings, etc. I would appreciate your help.
THanks!
Ali

jubilee
12-02-2003, 11:10 PM
I am also considering weaning, so I'd love to hear any suggestions.

hellokitty1
12-04-2003, 12:29 AM
Ali/Julie-

I'm no expert but I've start the weaning process today and here is how I am proceeding. I work 5 days/wk and pump twice at work at 10:30 and 2:30 and nurse when DD wakes, after work and before bed (and on the weekends, I BF exclusively).

I don't pump at 10:30am anymore and if I can make it to 2:30pm without feeling too bad, I wait til then and I do pump but just for relief. Your body will learn within a few days not to make milk at whatever time it is you normally nurse/pump. So within a few days, my body will know not to make milk for my usual 10:30 pump. Next week, I'll cut out the afternoon pump as well and by the end of that week, I will have cut out all my daytime production and just nurse in the AM, after work and before bed.

Eventually, I'll wean off completely but for now I just want to cut out the daytime since pumping is becoming to cumbersome and with disappointing results.

HTH. I'd like to hear progress from both of you.

peanut4us
12-04-2003, 11:14 AM
jumping on the bandwagon... kind of :) I made a promise to myself that whenever I wanted to quit I would give it one more week, and see if I still wanted to keep going. Usually, things were much better and I've always continued.