PDA

View Full Version : DD is on nursing strike!

littleme2
01-18-2004, 02:46 PM
Hi, DD won't nurse but I know that she's hungry. This has been going on for about a week. I thought the fussiness was due to teething but it seems to be because she's still hungry.

Today, I tried to nurse her aroung noon and she would just cry. I tried for about half an hour and finally gave her a bottle of EBM.
She inhaled the bottle and now she's back to her usual happy self.
I did check her for oral thrush and she doesn't have it.

I am so depressed - I feel like crying. I never thought I would feel this bad. We never had problems with nursing before this. She's been so great about everything. She's five mo old and has been taking bottles of EBM in daycare since 3 mo old. I'm a resident and have been really dedicated to pumping, even when I'm on call. My goal to pump has been 6 mo but it seems like I can't even get that far. I tried formula once with her and she HATED it. I have no idea what I'm going to do once my frozen stash is gone. I think I just feel really bad thinking that this whole time she has been hungry and I've been attributing it to teething.

On top of that, I got my period on Christmas day( DD was 4 1/2 mo) and AGAIN 2 weeks later. Life sucks.

Maybe I should have posted on the bitching forum.
Thanks for letting me vent.

Meetu
DD Sahana 8/15/03

Rachels
01-18-2004, 04:24 PM
So sorry you're struggling! Hang in there. This too shall pass. Meanwhile, here's some info on nursing strikes:

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/back-to-breast.html

http://www.drjaygordon.com/bf/striketips.htm

-Rachel
Mom to Abigail Rose
5/18/02

amyinNC
01-19-2004, 09:57 AM
Hi Meetu,