PDA

View Full Version : Maternity AND Nursing Bra?

kriswrite
05-17-2005, 11:25 AM
Do I really need to buy both maternity bras AND nursing bras? Is it possible just to buy nursing bras early and wear them before the baby is born? I hate to be wasteful.

Kristina

angusmom
05-17-2005, 03:41 PM
Hello! I'm no expert because I only just ordered my first maternity/nursing bra so I havent even got it yet and am still three months from delivery so I havent nursed yet. So, there's my credentials and now here's my two cents. . .

I feel the same as you. I havent had the money to buy a lot of maternity items that I'll get hardly any wear out of. So after reading these boards, I ended up ordering a YES! maternity/nursing bra from an eBay seller in Canada who specializes in that brand. She was very helpful and recommended a size that I should be able to wear the rest of maternity and then into nursing.

What I learned when looking into bras is that most of the manufacturers use a sizing method that allows you to accommodate both maternity and nursing. In other words, one bra covers a range of band and cup sizes so the bra should be comfortable now and fit your cups when they "runneth over" with milk. If you look into the YES or into Bravado, it is true of both those brands.

If you search past threads on YES and Bravado you should be able to find their web sites. If not, just post a reply to this message and I'm happy to look them up for you. :-)

sidmand
05-17-2005, 04:02 PM
Most people said maternity bras were a complete waste of time and money and just another way to make us part with ours!

That being said, I've been wearing nursing bras for awhile, but I think it will be/has been tricky to figure out what size I may need for nursing.