PDA

View Full Version : Nursing bras

floriflee
12-30-2006, 09:57 PM
I'm new to the whole parenting thing (well, not even to the parenting part yet since DD isn't due for about another 7 weeks). In any case, I've been trying to find out information on nursing bras. Does anyone have recommendations on what to look for when buying a nursing bra?

Where have people found good, comfortable, and easy to use bras?

As far as size goes can I expect to be as big while I'm nursing as I am now? I ask because I've gone up two cup sizes since becoming pregnant and I am wondering if I will shrink, grow or stay the same size while nursing.

On average, how long does it take before the breasts return to their "normal" size?

Sorry for all the questions, but thanks in advance for the input! :)

C99
12-30-2006, 10:27 PM
>Does anyone have recommendations on what to
>look for when buying a nursing bra?

You want a soft cup, a back fastener w/ at least 3 hooks in the row, and a front clasp that you can easily open with one hand.

>Where have people found good, comfortable, and easy to use
>bras?

My favorite bras from my DD were the ones I bought at Sears, of all places. They were stretchy cotton, had an extraordinarily easy front clasp and provided plenty of support. They were around $20 each. The only bad part about the Sears bras was that the under part of the bra would stretch up over time, so it was visible above/around the front flap. It didn't bother me because I did not wear revealing shirts or t-shirts, but it might bother other people. I also liked the nursing tanks sold at K-Mart. I wasn't as big of a fan of the Glamourmom nursing tank (too short in the torso) or the Target nursing tank (was in between sizes), and my first set of nursing bras, made by Medela, and purchased after my DS was born, were not nearly as comfortable or easy to use as the Sears bras. I know a lot of people like Bravado and Spanx bras too.

>As far as size goes can I expect to be as big while I'm