PDA

View Full Version : Review of shopping maternity selction for size 18 mom

birdie75
08-30-2007, 10:39 AM
As some of you may have read below I am first time mom who is normally in a size 16 womens or 18 regular. This is a challenging size for maternity. I am 5'6" and have a curvy hourglass type build, I tend to gain extra weight in my thighs. I was mostly looking for pants for a dressy corporate casual environment as I am a business development manager. This is what I have found/learned.

Gap (online) - Grade A-
Carries up to size 20. The size 20 and size 18 fit me. The material, quality, cut and pricing is inline with normal gap prices material. Excellent selection of pants for work. I purchased 2 pairs of flare pants at ~$50. You can return to the regular store with a 180 day return policy (90 days cash back 90 days store credit)

Old Navy (online & store) - B+
Carries up to size XXL. The XL and XXL fit me depending on the cut. The XXL tops are too big. The material, quality, pricing is inline with old navy so there are deals to be had here. They are better for casual/non-buisness wear. I bought 1 pair of pants ~$16 and a couple of tops. You can return to the regular store with a 180 day return policy (90 days cash back 90 days store credit)

Lane Bryant - A
Carries sizes 14-20 something. The 16 and 18 sizes fit me. 16 fits now but if I gain weight 18 would be better. Cut and fabric is the same as the normal Lane Bryant pants. The elastic was a little tighter then the other brands which I liked because I didn't feel like my pants were going to fall down in the rear. I bought 2 pairs of pants ~$23 on sale. Good selection of dress pants. Returns are via mail only but are free.

Motherhood - D