PDA

View Full Version : Baby monitors - HELP

julymom
06-05-2001, 12:25 PM
I am trying to figure out which baby monitor to purchase, but they all seem to have a flaw or two.

I seem to like the First Years Crisp N Clear monitor, but have read lots of complaints about static and noice. I do like that the monitor is compact and that the batteries are rechargeable.

My other choice is the Fisher Price Sounds So Clear. It seems that people don't complain as much about the static factor, but I hate to think that I'll need to be replacing the batteries every 2 or so weeks!

I'd love to hear your opinions on them and maybe recommendations of others that are clear & have rechargeable batteries.

Thank you!

docreeler
06-05-2001, 12:50 PM
Hello,

My husband and I are eagerly awaiting the birth of our first-born, so I have no first-hand experience with any monitors. However, I was wondering if there is any reason why one couldn't buy two sets of rechargeable batteries and a battery charger, and then simply switch between the sets of batteries? Yes, it would be a relatively high initial outlay; but given the number of batteries monitors eat through, and given the number of toys that require batteries, I would anticipate that an such investment would rapidly more than repay for itself. (When you finished using the monitor, the batteries ought to be useable in toys or other gadgets.)

Do please let us know what you decide, and whether you are happy with your decision once you have tried it out. :)

hunter
06-06-2001, 01:18 PM