PDA

View Full Version : bottles-disposable vs. reusable -bottles 101 needed?

first_time mum
07-14-2003, 05:30 PM
Hi,

I probably have a stupid question, but I had a coupon for avent bottles and when I went to the store, I realised that I had no clue at all about bottles!! Can't you tell I am a first-time paranoid mom?

So what is the difference between reusable and disposable bottles? Why do more people prefer disposable ones as mentioned in the book? I am guessing it should have something to do with cleaning, but not sure of the specifics. Also, how should I go about cleaning bottles/nipples/liners etc? Should I buy a sterilizer?

Hoping someone can give me a lesson on bottles 101.

-SP

kaitlinsmommy
07-14-2003, 11:09 PM
Well, I am not an expert about bottles but can try to answer.

First, I have no idea why people prefer disposables. I have friends who use Playtex disposable but I've never asked why. I still breastfeed but dd did take a bottle of EBM for awhile. We tried Avent and it worked fine so that's what we stuck with. I got the reusable Avent bottles. I didn't see a need for disposable. They are very easy to clean and store breast milk in in the freezer. Then you just thaw and pop on a nipple for feeding.

I just threw my bottles & nipples in the dishwasher to clean them. I've never had bottle,nipple brushes and everything always comes out looking new. I received a bottle sterilizer and then returned it; I'm glad I did. I see how they could be useful for someone who bottlefeeds frequently but it is not necessary for a primarily breastfeeding mom.

I hope this helps.

first_time mum
07-14-2003, 11:52 PM
Hi,