PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a moses basket and bassinet...if crib is a few steps away?

bee
05-14-2004, 09:25 AM
We live in a one story home about 1500 sq ft. We were given a moses basket as a gift from my parents and my brother/sister in law let us borrow their bassinet. We're wondering if we really need all this stuff. Our nursery is very close to the living room and husbands office. It is at the opposite end of the house from our bedroom.

Do we really need a bassinet and a moses basket? I was thinking of keeping the bassinet in the living room during the day when I'm home and doing things. Then I wonder if he or she will enjoy the security of the moses basket and I could carry he/she around when I do stuff in the house.

Obviously I'm new at this and I'm not sure what I really need.

Another thought is that I want this baby to know it's crib early on!!!! I don't want it to get use to sleeping 10 different places.

HELP PLEASE!

Momof3Labs
05-14-2004, 09:47 AM
You're actually not supposed to carry the moses basket by the handles with a baby in it, so it isn't as portable as it seems at first. We had a moses basket and used it for the first 4-6 weeks at nighttime, just to spare me having to trek down to Colin's bedroom every time he woke up at night (he was bf'd). During the day, he napped in our arms (would NOT nap in the crib or basket, we tried).

It doesn't hurt to have all of these things, especially since they are gifts/loaners. I'd suggest waiting until your baby is here and then you can figure out what works best for your baby! Trust me, many of us imagine our baby sleeping in the crib from day 1, but most newborns just don't do that! And it can be nice to have a baby that will sleep somewhere other than his/her crib - otherwise, you'll never get out of the house.

amp
05-14-2004, 11:24 AM