PDA

View Full Version : Thermometers

rrosen
05-29-2004, 10:03 PM
I'm not sure if this fits in this forum or not... I have been using a digital thermometor (from the hospital) to take DD's temp rectally. I know my Ped. told me to do this when she was a newborn. She is almost 9 months now. Can I use one of those ear ones yet? If so, is there one that is better than another?

Advice?

Thanks,

newmomto1
05-29-2004, 10:19 PM
My DS is only 3mos old...I do rectal temps. I will probably continue to take temps this way until he's old enough to do it orally. In my experience....taking temp with an ear thermometer is not accurate AT ALL. I am a nurse...my experience is with adults...in my work I found that the ear themometers could give you different readings everytime you take the patient's temp, even if it was a few times in a row. Rectal is the most accurate, oral is next after that, then axillary (under the arm).
I purchased a great rectal thermometer by Safety 1st at BRU...the end is really short..so it's comfortable for the baby & there's no threat of injury.
HTH :-)

em_jon98
05-29-2004, 11:10 PM
My ped told me that the ear thermotmers frequently are not accurate because most people cannot get it pointed to the proper part of the ear on a consistent basis.

We did purchase one when the battery in our regular digital died, and I have not been happy with it. I find that it is only really useful for giving a general idea of temps, i.e.: confirming that DD has a fever, but not giving me an accurate result of what her temp really is. Plus, as much as she doesn't like having a rectal temp taken, she REALLY doesn't like the ear thermotomer at all. DD fights me to get it in her ear and keep it there the few seconds until it beeps.

shindagrl
05-30-2004, 12:50 AM