PDA

View Full Version : Should I or Shouldn't I buy an Exersaucer??

WooChx
02-02-2005, 03:04 PM
I'm really on the fence about this. I know there are pro's and con's. Any thoughts?

brittone2
02-02-2005, 04:17 PM
I'm a pediatric physical therapist, and I don't recommend them. I also don't own one. (DS is almost 12 months).

If you look in the archives, there are tons of posts on this, probably many from me ;) Basically to summarize, a walker or saucer will NOT help your child walk sooner. In fact, in a normally developing child, if anything it may cause them to hit milestones later (including sitting, pulling to stand, cruising, and walking). There have been several studies done on this, including a well-designed twin study (one twin in the walker, one not) which is the best kind of study you can have really.

Standing in something like a saucer does not encourage the child to use his/her abdominal, gluteal (butt), or leg muscles in the same way that "active" standing (such as holding onto a piece of furniture does). This has been confirmed through EMG studies (electrodes hooked to muscles). When babies stand in the saucer,they tend to adopt a lordotic posture (sway backed). It can also encourage tip toe standing and several other abnormal movement patterns.

The differences would definitely be more pronounced in a child who has motor delays of any type. I would *absolutely* refrain from putting a child w/ any motor delays in a saucer or walker.

Being in the saucer, with a large tray, blocks the baby's visual input. They cannot see their legs and their body, and this can have a negative impact on proprioception/kinesthesia, which basically are "body awareness" senses. Some studies have even linked saucer use to decreased fine motor skills and decreased cognitive skills because the child has less varied experiences while in the saucer.