PDA

View Full Version : Thomas Train question

shannonG
04-04-2005, 10:58 PM
I am interested in getting ds a train set for his first birthday and think that he would love the Thomas themed train set. I'm kind of confused since I'm new at this but I have noticed that there are two different kinds...wooden tracks with wooden trains and then a plastic set. When you're talking about the Thomas train sets which are you referring to? Thanks so much in advance!

jubilee
04-05-2005, 02:38 AM
I think many people believe the "gold standard" are the WOODEN Thomas trains and tracks. The wooden ones are the ones that get all the talk here on Baby Bargains. I'm looking forward to Saturday because it's my son's second birthday and he'll get a wooden Thomas set!! :)

LucyG
04-05-2005, 06:43 AM
There are several brands of wooden track that are compatible with the Thomas wooden ones (Brio, Maxim, and maybe more that I'm unaware of). Some of the others may not have cross-ties cut into them like the Thomas ones do, but Thomas trains will run on them just the same. I found a train set at Tuesday Morning that is made by Maxim. The tracks are all wooden, and are compatible with Thomas and Friends trains and track. I took some of each to the store to check before I bought the Maxim set!

http://www.gynosaur.com/assets/ribbons/ribbon_sapphire_24m.gif[/img][/url]
2 years and counting!

August Mom
04-05-2005, 08:38 AM