PDA

View Full Version : Trying to decide on steady walker/push toy

tigalig
05-24-2005, 03:03 PM
Our dd is delayed in walking and her therapist recommends that we get her a push toy/walker (not the kind she'll sit in), but this is all new to me so I'm asking you. Is there a "preferred" push toy out there that is steady? I had my eye on the Walker Wagon from Haba and the Radio Flyer Classic Walker Wagon, but I'm not sure. Any ideas or suggestions?

holliam
05-24-2005, 03:19 PM
I'm no expert but we just got the Radio Flyer Classic Walker Wagon and DD LOVES it. She is 8 months old one of her favorite things to do is stand up at the coffee table or hold our fingers and walk. So, I thought this would add some excitement to her life.

It moves too quickly for her to keep up just yet so we actually either move it along more slowly with her or park it in front of something. She stands up at that thing laughing her head off. LOL The sides also slip right out so we took them off so she could practice taking things in/out of the cart while sitting down. She really loves this thing.

I imagine in another couple of weeks she'll be able to keep up with the pace of it. It supposedly has "resisting" that makes it not go as fast as something with wheels, and it definitely does go slower but not quite slow enough for our young girly.

ETA: Here's hoping Beth doesn't tell me I shouldn't have bought this. LOL

Holli

sdbc
05-24-2005, 03:31 PM
We got the little tikes racer http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00005850H/qid=1116966529/br=1-1/ref=br_lf_t_1//002-5139274-4089653?v=glance&s=toys&n=556986 for $5 at a consignment sale (in girlie pastel colors) and DD loved pushing it before she walked on her own. Now she still enjoys riding on it.

Sue, mommy to Aurora (Rory) born 5/13/04

neeter
05-24-2005, 06:22 PM