PDA

View Full Version : kids book clubs: does anyone belong?

knaidel
08-09-2005, 09:44 AM
I have a Master's in library Science, so of course my DS needs tons of books! (My neighborhood library isn't so great). I was just wondering if anyone has joined any of the kids book clubs around, and how's the selection, service, etc.
Would you recommend joining one?

brittone2
08-09-2005, 12:26 PM
I don't belong to a book club but this site is great:
http://www.bookcloseouts.com/default.asp?N=0

Someone posted about this site before here (I can't remember who!) and we bought a ton of books around the holidays last year. They come out with periodic additional percentage off online coupons (I think one level is a disount off of $30 or more, and there is a higher %age off of $50 or something like that). Anyway, last year we ordered 20-some books for $50. There is a lot to wade through but as a librarian you may be more familiar w/ some of the titles. I used amazon.com to check the descriptions and reviews of books and several other mamas posted their lists which was a great help. Some books are marked with a slash on the top of the book, etc, but many have no indication that they are closeouts, so they can make great gifts too.

I don't know much about the book clubs but I had a great experience with this website. Oh, and they give an option for cheap but slow shipping (I think they say it can take up to a month or something??) but my books came pretty quickly...like 7 or 10 days.

californiagirl
08-09-2005, 12:47 PM
Oooh, they have Pooh's Touch and Feel Visit. This is a really nice Touch and Feel book -- the text is from the original stories, and the textures have a good variety to them.

http://www.bookcloseouts.com/default.asp?Nsl=606+4294966986&Ix=69&R=0525458301B&Rt=752

tiapam
08-10-2005, 08:41 AM
Rachel-