PDA

View Full Version : I'm confused about train sets

KrisM
08-18-2005, 03:06 PM
I am starting to figure out Christmas gifts for DS. I think I'd like to get a train set. I was at Target today and they have plastic Thomas sets. I was expecting the track to be wood. They had inexpensive wood sets with something like 200 pieces for $20 or $30. I like the idea of wood.

So, should I get wood or plastic?
Do I need Thomas? DS has no idea who Thomas is.
Are the inexpensive sets compatible with other sets?

Just point me to what I need, please!

thanks

ETA: They all said for ages 3 and up. DS is only 15 months now. Is there another set I should look for for younger kids?

pritchettzoo
08-18-2005, 03:34 PM
I am no expert as we've just gotten the train table and are venturing into this new world ;)

Some of the Plastic Thomas stuff from Target is compatible with wooden stuff--I think the Thomas on the go or to go is NOT.

We bought a basic wooden Thomas set at Michael's with the 40% off coupon. It's a figure eight set with a bridge and a little conductor thingie and it came with 3 trains. We got another Thomas circus set with a coupon because it was cute and a good price. We'd also picked up some wooden (Battat) train track at Marshall's on clearance. There is a big difference quality-wise IMO between the Thomas track/trains and the clearanced stuff. It's so much smoother and easier to put together and the trains are heavier and move more smoothly.