PDA

View Full Version : Exersaucer: Not good for physical development? Something about their hips?

boys2enough
01-05-2006, 03:44 PM
Has anybody heard of Exersaucer not good for children’s physical development? Any latest research, news? Thanks.

Cheers, Lin
Mom to 2 wild boys
D 3/98
G 11/02

http://smilies.vidahost.com/kao/otn/pcomputer.gif

Neatfreak
01-05-2006, 03:56 PM
I do remember reading something about only allowing a baby to spend about 15 min a day in one somewhere. I wonder if it was because just hanging there doesn't develop muscles the same way pulling up to standing somewhere does?

Hopefully someone can find better info!

brittone2
01-05-2006, 04:48 PM
This is a touchy subject, I know, but if you do a search there are tons of old posts. I posted a bunch of links at one time to multiple research studies.

I worked as a pediatric physical therapist in early intervention before DS was born. One of my projects on an internship was to develop a pamphlet for parents explaining the negatives of saucer/walker/jumper use with their babies. The studies I posted are what I found from my research on the topic. In my time working as a PT, the vast majority of my colleagues had the same opinions.