PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Decide on a Bike Please!

annasmom
07-06-2007, 02:58 PM
This weekend is the moment of truth - both our local bike shop and our Target have their pink 16" bikes in stock. So now the decision, buy the $40ish bike (I think its Magna brand) from Target, or the $150 Trek bike from the bike shop.

I know I have asked this before, but what do you think? Should I go for the higher end bike? Is there really a difference in how they ride? TIA!

August Mom
07-06-2007, 04:33 PM
I would buy whichever fits DD the best and the one she feels more comfortable riding.

annasmom
07-07-2007, 06:47 AM
Thanks, unfortunately the Target bike comes unassembled and in a box. So I guess my question would be concerning the overall quality of the product.

BeachBum
07-07-2007, 07:16 AM
I have no experience with the bikes you are comparing. That said, I would buy the more expensive bike.
I had a bike from Wal-Mart for myself. I thought it was fine--but annoying. The brakes didnt' work well is the main thing I noticed. Then my husband bought me a nicer bike from a bike shop. WOW, WOW, WOW. There was just a world of difference. It make the whole experience so much better. Sure the WalMart bike worked---but comparing side by side was amazing. I just had no idea that two bikes that loooked similar could ride so differently.
I took away the lesson that you don't want to buy a cheap bike (unless it is that, or no bike).
I think particularly with a child you want a bike where the breaks work well and that it provides a superior experience. The bike will be loved an abused.
Good luck with your decision.

ECMom
07-07-2007, 08:01 AM