PDA

View Full Version : Janod wooden toys at Target?

zephyr
09-20-2007, 07:13 PM
Like I stated in an earlier post, I am a total newbie to the toy scene. And with all the plastic toys being recalled, I'm really leaning towards wooden ones not made in China. I saw some totally adorable wooden toys at Target today, that are made in France. The brand is Janod. They have a website www.janod.com, but it's all in French and I couldn't find any reviews online of the toys. They seem to be well made and I showed ds one of them at the store and he seemed pretty interested. The toys I saw at the store were: push toys, pull toys, stacking cubes, a stacking tower? (not sure if that's what it's called) They each come in their own colorful box and the toys themselves are pretty colorful. I would love to know if anyone else has these toys and what they think of them.

Zephyr

nicknack
09-20-2007, 08:22 PM
We have the stacking toy with the monkey and it's really cute! Has held up well and I think Maeve will play with it for a while. Was so tempted to get that pull-toy too!

Happy 2B mommy
09-21-2007, 10:38 PM
Check the labels carefully. The one I looked at was actually made in China. (Big nesting/stacking blocks on Clearance). Maybe others are made elsewhere?

kayte
09-22-2007, 08:21 AM
That is a good brand. That being said, often companies who get a Target contract are forced by the pricing to have their items made somewhere else that they normally would. Sometimes company will make a new brand --the label will say "such and such by " then the company name, sometimes not. Before becoming a SAHM I was a product development director for a paper crafting company. I know several scrapbooking companies that produced (printed) their main line products here in the US, had their Target lines (identical in every way but the materials) made off source.