PDA

View Full Version : Is it safe to use a Britax Roundabout for an infant?

babytoluv
06-18-2001, 08:59 AM
I am currently 30 weeks pregnant and shopping for a car seat. We bought a Peg Perego Travel System which has been recalled so we are waiting to hear what is happening with that. In the meantime, we put a Britax Roundabout car seat on our registry. The sales person at Babies-R-Us told us that it can be used for infants up to toddlers. I am being told by my OB that I will probably have an 8 to 9 lb baby. Is it safe to use this car seat for the baby or will the baby be safer in a regular infant car seat and then the convertible car seat when the baby is bigger? I'm new at this and I don't want to make any mistakes, especially when my baby's life is at stake. Any input into this would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Ilana

Geebee
06-18-2001, 09:41 AM
A few things to think about...

Generally, it is safer for an infant to be in an infant car seat. The infant seats fit the infant better than the larger infant/toddler car seats.

Another thing to think about is the convenience of the infant car seat. I really appreciated the ability to just lift the baby out of the car without waking her. It makes it so much easier to run errands if she sleeps, and you always have a place for the infant (in restaurants, shopping carts, etc.).