PDA

View Full Version : Outboard vs. Middle, LATCH & Lap belt dilemma

rsamsuh
08-15-2004, 04:36 PM
Would like to gather some opinions on infant car seat installation...

We have two cars... the first car (my car) has 3-point seatbelts in the outboard backseat positions and only a lapbelt in the middle backseat position. Is it more important to have the carseat in the middle of the backseat, or is it more important to use a seatbelt with a shoulder harness to secure the carseat?

Our second car (my husband's car) has 3-point seatbelts in all three backseat positions, but has LATCH in only the outboard seat positions. Is it more important to have the carseat in the middle of the backseat, or is it more helpful to use LATCH but put the carseat in the outboard position?

Thanks

debsten
08-16-2004, 11:16 AM
Hi,

I am no expert, but from what I have read at this and other boards I will give you my thoughts.