PDA

View Full Version : traveling by cab questions. . . .

gilliesgal
10-26-2005, 02:08 PM
Going to Chicago this weekend and traveling solo with DS. Want to limit the amount of gear I'm taking, such as car seat and PNP. I've never done public trans with DS before, so I don't know the do's/don'ts of traveling via taxi with DS. . . must he be in a carseat or not?

Also, bonus question, if I don't bring PNP, what would be a good alternative for where DS could sleep at friend's apt. On floor? With blankets as a padding?

How do you traveling folks go light with your little ones??

Thanks!

-Kellie

Momof3Labs
10-26-2005, 03:51 PM
How old is your DS? That makes a huge difference.

You don't *have* to have him in a taxi in a Chicago cab, but IMO there's no way I would take a cab around here with DS in my lap. I'd stick with public transportation (trains, buses), personally, if you don't want to take a car seat. (Though you could take the car seat and use it on the plane - much safer again than being a lap baby.)

About the PNP, it would help to know how old he is.

gilliesgal
10-26-2005, 03:56 PM
Good point. . . he is a little over 5 months.

You are right. . . taxis are so scary that if any place he should be in his car seat, that would be it! Isn't it shocking that isn't a law??

Ok, so some sort of blanket on the floor for DS or is that a bad idea? Thinking maybe the basinette mat of the PNP could be folded and put in my suitcase. That would be pretty good on the floor, I think.

bensmom
10-26-2005, 08:59 PM
I completely agree with Lori. A passenger was killed the other day on Michigan Avenue when he was ejected from the cab during a crash. Just wanted to add that I take cabs fairly often in Chicago (I live in the city) and I can't remember the last time I was in one that didn't have working seatbelts (and I buckle up every time in cabs) and most of them are relatively new, so they'd have locking seatbelts.