PDA

View Full Version : adopting internationally - stroller for 6 month old?

annc
02-28-2005, 08:56 AM
Hi - this is my first post and I am new to this forum. We are adopting a baby from Guatemala and I have no idea what stroller to get. The baby will probably be between 4 - 6 months old when we get her. I am going to get the Britax convertible car seat. But I don't know what stroller to even look at and if I put an infant car carrier with it? I want a nice lightweight stroller that folds with one hand - but is that good for a baby or toddler? HELP!!! I will use a stroller a lot - shopping, errands, just walking around the neighborhood, etc. I was thinking of the Inglesina, Combi, Maclaren, or Peg. I also need a jogging stroller which I presume I can't use until she is 6 months old? Thank you for any advice you can give me!!!

heatherlynn
02-28-2005, 09:09 AM
Congratulations and welcome!

I am by no means a stroller expert, but I think the only one w/ true one-hand fold is the Inglesina Zippy. The 05 P3s are supposedly one-handed, but you have to fold it w/ one hand at a time. Not sure that makes sense. I have an 03 P3 and I love it. It's good for light neighborhood walking as well as shopping and errands. You could go w/ something like a Mac Quest for shopping/malls/errands and use your jogger for neighborhood walking, too, which may be better depending on your sidewalks. Also, I just bought one of those Vogues at Target. I took it to the mall yesterday and it was awesome! Steering seems even better to me than the Quest, plus it's not as tippy. Quest is about 13# vs. about 15# for the Vogue. I think the 05 P3s are around 18-19#. The P3 and Vogue are sort of similar (at least to me) and I plan to keep the P3 in the car during bad weather months and the Vogue in it during good weather months.

Ok, not sure if I helped and sorry for rambling, but I'm heading at the door!

H-
Heather
dd 3/98
ds 8/04

pittsburghgirl
02-28-2005, 09:50 AM
Ann,