PDA

View Full Version : Valco Runabout 2005 Review & Strap Question

MarieBunny
05-16-2006, 02:12 PM
I got my single Valco 2005 Runabout a week ago but unfortunately because of the non-stop rain and chilly weather over the past week, we've only taken it out twice for quick walks in between rainstorms!

I will say it was tricky to assemble and directions were poorly written. The whole thing took me a couple hours to assemble and figure out how all the parts worked (that said, I am a jogging stroller novice). But once I did, I found it fairly easy to fold/unfold. Some of the reviews I read made it sound more complicated.

Now for my question: It comes with a strap included that is not mentioned in the instructions. It has elastic and a snap, and I assume it's the safety leash thing but I don't know where it attaches. I also noticed a couple of small straps attached to the stroller on the back of the seat above the basket with rectangular hooks. I don't know what this is for either, or if it's related.

Anyway, the Runabout is beautifully constructed, has a wonderful cushy padded seat with nice fabric (I got crimson). It folds fairly compactly, even more so if the wheels are removed (wheels are large). I haven't put it in my Toyota Camry trunk yet, but I have no doubt it will fit. The basket isn't huge but is more than adequate. Sunshade should be fine for our Ohio weather, although hotter/sunnier climes might want to add a bigger shade.

Most importantly, it glides like a dream in my neighborhood with no sidewalks. I have taken it over grass and hilly terrain and it is so easy to push, it almost pushes itself! DS (32+ lbs and 35 in.) fits comfortably in the main seat. I plan to use it as a double with my toddler seat once my next DC is born. It is so plush, has full recline and includes an infant headhugger. I think it will be perfect for a newborn.