PDA

View Full Version : I am tired of defending myself!

farsk
02-04-2004, 03:39 PM
Hello Everyone!

I am a researcher by nature. I will hunt and hunt until I find the information that I'm looking for and have decided I have made the best decision with the information that is available. But I'm tired of defending everything!

I have a co-worker, (Ms. "are you still nursing? well you won't when she gets teeth!), who, after I told her that we were using organic food for Ellen replied "why? what's wrong with gerber?" So I tell her about organic produce....no pesticides.....etc.....thinking she really wants to hear, but instead she gets very defensive (I guess her babies ate gerber.....again, not that it isn't great, we just choose not to use it.)

I think I just need to shut up and smile and nod....unfortunately, that's not in my nature.

Thanks for listening (reading!)

vikivoly
02-04-2004, 03:48 PM
I think one of the biggest challenges of being a parent is "defending" your parenting choices. It's a shame that we have to, but unless you can just shut up and nod (I can't either), you do. Everyone who is a parent considers themself an expert, and there are a lot of parents out there!

I do find that if it's someone I don't particularly care what they think, I try to just shut up and nod. Or say something like, "Oh, maybe I'll give that a try" or "I never looked at it that way". This usually brings the conversation to an end faster than explaining the benefits of organic food, etc.. If it's a close family member I will go into the explanation of why if I think they will keep bringing it up. I parent a lot differently than my family, but they all respect me and realize what a research hound I am. They still question, but they usually let it go when I throw a bunch of stats and facts at them.

rhymeswithfizz
02-04-2004, 05:34 PM