PDA

View Full Version : NO...I am NOT 18!!!!

Mommie2MadLyn
03-23-2004, 09:51 AM
This is something that has really been annoying me lately. I'll start by saying that I am 26, and my daughter will be 2 next week.
I am getting so sick of hearing people say, "YOU have a child, and she's 2!!! I thought you were about 18 years old!!!" I work in retail, so more often than not these people don't KNOW me! They are just passing judgement because I happen to LOOK younger than I am.
Of course many people tell me that I will appreciate this when I AM older,but right now its just so annoying!
Yesterday at work I was talking to a customer who happens to be a frequent shopper, and she was asking me how DD was doing. Well, my co-worker informed me later that the 2 other women in the store turned to eachother and one said, "look, that young girl over there has a child, and she's 2!!!" And the other woman replied "Noooo... she's much too young she couldn't possibly be a mother".
The best part was that I forgot to wear my wedding rings yesterday, so they probably had even more to "gasp" about when they left!
I decided that my new come-back is going to be," Oh, I wish I was 18, I'm really only 15!" This should win me a few horrified stares!!!:o
Its not that I mind looking young, it just bugs me that people would so openly share their negative opinion. I mean what if I were 16,17,18...who are they to judge me and my ability as a parent?

brigmaman
03-23-2004, 10:03 AM
Some people have nerve. So I wonder what they think when they see you, Joanne and I together. I think we all look pretty young!
Jay got this type of reaction at work when he first started working in schools. When he told people he had a son, they admitted that they guessed he was straight out of college. It really used to burn him up that he'd get carded when ordering a beer at a restaurant. For a while he wouldn't order because he didn't want to hear it.

I guess you guys just still look young and hip!

jojo2324