PDA

View Full Version : People who don't have their kids in carseats or seat belts!

twinmama
03-31-2004, 11:46 PM
Why do people do this? Today at a stoplight, I saw a little girl completely unrestrained in the front seat of the Mercedes SUV next to us. She couldn't have been more than 6 or 7 and she was sitting right next to the dashboard with her back against the window. Her mom looked over at me and smiled and I glared back.

What do you do when you see something like that? I thought of getting the license plate number and giving it to the police, but would they even do anything? Argh, this just makes me so mad. X(

-Lisa

s_gosney
04-01-2004, 12:26 AM
Pre-baby, I worked as a bank teller and we saw this ALL the time. And much smaller children than you're describing too. I often thought about calling the police, but never did. It makes me mad too, but I don't know what the answer is.

BethS
04-01-2004, 08:30 AM
This drives me crazy and makes me so sad.

I think one reason people do this is because their child resists the seatbelt/carseat. Rather than being firm as the parent, mom or dad just gives in. Maybe not but that's my guess. So many parents have totally given control over to the child in many other areas so it wouldn't surprise me if they do it this area as well.

dogmom
04-01-2004, 10:49 AM
In our state all children under 12 need to be properly restrained, and cops can pull you over for it. I write down the license plate and call the cops. I've also said things to people when I can, usually pointing out I used to work at an organ bank and have seen too many dead kids. Usually people just got pissed off at me. I rely more on the call the cops method now since my DH made me promise not to get into an altercation. Of course my DH calls me a seatbelt Nazi. I think people should have their kids taken away for not restraining them properly, it's neglect. But, once again, I'm extreme. Don't ever ask me what I think about Princess Diana.

Jeanne
Mom to Harvey